Learn how to use Grepr service accounts for programmatic access to the Grepr API. # Manage Grepr service accounts A *service account* is an identity used to authenticate to resources in the Grepr platform without relying on user credentials. You can use a service account to authenticate to the Grepr REST API, the Terraform provider, CI/CD pipelines, scripts, or any other automated workflow. Each service account has a *client ID* and *client secret* that you use to obtain an OAuth2 access token. To create or manage service accounts, you can use the Grepr UI or REST API. The following sections describe how to create and manage service accounts in the Grepr UI. To create and manage service accounts with the Grepr API, see the [Service Accounts specification](/apis/api-spec#tag/Service-Accounts). To learn how to use a service account to authenticate API requests, see [Authenticate to Grepr REST APIs](/apis/authentication). To learn how to use a service account with the Terraform provider, see [Manage Grepr pipelines with Terraform](/admin/terraform-provider). > You must be an Admin or assigned a role with the required permissions to view and manage service accounts. ## Create and manage service accounts in the Grepr UI To manage service accounts in the UI: 1. Sign in to the Grepr UI and click your profile icon in the top bar. 2. In the menu, select **Developer**. 3. In the left-hand navigation menu, select **Service Accounts**. ### Create a service account \[#create-service-account] 1. On the **Service Accounts** pane, click **Create**. 2. In the **Service Account Name** field, enter a descriptive name for the service account. For example, `terraform-ci` or `pipeline-automation`. 3. In the **Roles** menu, assign one or more roles to control what the service account can access. 4. Click **Create**. 5. Copy the **Client ID** and **Client Secret** that are displayed. ### Manage service accounts To manage a service account, click the three-dot menu in the **Actions** column for the service account to manage, and select **Edit**, **View Secret**, **Regenerate Secret**, or **Delete** from the menu. Deleting a service account immediately revokes all access, and any systems or clients using the account's credentials will stop working.